UK & CHN Core - UK & China Centre for Offshore Renewable Energy
  • Fengbo-Wind

FENGBO-WIND:将环境纳入电网:海上风电的大数据 - EP / R007470 / 1

领导人:伦敦帝国理工学院Mike Graham教授和浙江大学宋明黎教授。工程和物理科学研究委 员会(EPSRC)提供资金:797,054英镑

FENGBO-WIND项目旨在利用高性能计算、基于物理的建模和数据科学的最新发展,创建新一 代预测功能,支持更经济的海上风电场的设计和运营,同时评估和尽量减少对环境的影响。

 

 

英国参与者

Prof. Mike Graham

Mike Graham是帝国理工学院航空系不稳定空气动力学教授。他目前是帝国学院 - 华威大学项 目FENGBO-Wind的PI,该项目是中英海外可再生能源联盟项目的一部分。

Mike Graham自1970年以来一直在帝国理工学院任职,在剑桥大学获得数学学士学位(1963年 ),在帝国理工学院获得航空学博士学位(1967年),毕业后加入讲师行列。1999至2003年 成为航空学系主任。在该学院的职业生涯中,他曾从事低速空气动力学(湍流,尾流,风力工 程),海洋技术(固定结构和浮体上的波浪力和潮流力)和自1990年以来对可再生能源(风 力涡轮机空气动力学和潮汐涡轮机流体动力学)的研究领域工作。

这项研究既是实验性的,也是理论性的/计算的。该项研究已发表在同行评审期刊和会议记录 的150多篇研究论文中。他参与了许多工程和物理科学研究委员会、EU以及其他资助项目,包 括领导多个联合项目,例如工程和物理科学研究委员会的海洋CFD,EU MARNET(技术区域协 调员)和EU(Joule):ROTOW(转子塔相互作用)并且已经英国政府成员。DTI可再生能源和加速 碳氢化合物回收委员会,工程和物理科学研究委员会的石油和天然气开采计划以及高性能计算 面板CCP12。他是皇家工程学院,皇家航空学会和皇家海军建筑师学会的院士。

Prof. Mike Graham

Imperial College London

Prof. Rafael Palacios

Rafael Palacios自2007年以来一直担任伦敦帝国理工学院航空学的高级讲师。他是马德里理工 大学的航空工程师和密歇根大学的航空航天工程专业博士,在那里他参加了富布赖特联谊会。 在获得博士学位之前,他在马德里附近的空中客车公司的气动弹性部门工作了四年。他的研究 领域是应用于大型海上风力涡轮机和非常灵活的飞行器的气动弹性设计和控制的气动伺服弹性 和流体-结构相互作用的计算方法。他的研究由英国研究委员会,欧洲委员会,AFOSR,QinetiQ 和空中客车公司资助。

他还担任空中客车公司,Facebook和MSC软件公司的技术顾问,负责将他的非线性气动弹性研 究转化为工业应用。在帝国,他是能源期货实验室海上可再生能源研究的主题领导者。他获得 了西班牙最佳本科生奖,AIAA奥维尔基金会和Wilbur Wright美国航空航天工程最佳博士毕业论 文奖,以及2013年帝国最佳主管奖。Rafael是航空航天科学进展,流体与结构期刊,飞机杂志 的副主编,AIAA结构动力学技术委员会成员,皇家航空学会会员。想要了解更多信息以及完整 的出版物清单,请访问伦敦帝国理工学院的Rafael个人网站或载荷控制及气动弹性研究实验室 的网站。

Prof. Rafael Palacios

Imperial College London

Prof. Matthew Piggott

Matthew Piggott教授是伦敦帝国理工学院计算地球科学与工程系的教授。他是地球科学与工程 系的成员,在那里他领导计算地球科学和工程研究科。他获得巴斯大学数学硕士和博士学位, 专攻数值分析,并于2001年加入伦敦帝国理工学院。他是NERC博士培训合作伙伴关系的“地球 变化的科学与解决方案”的副主任。他的研究兴趣包括利用自适应网格方法和大规模并行算法 开发环境流动的先进开源数值方法,以及反演,优化和不确定性量化技术,以及它们在一系列 环境和能源驱动问题中的应用。

他在这些领域撰写了100多篇经过同行评审的出版物,筹集了超过1000万英镑的英国研究委员 会工业基金,并培养了35名博士生和20名博士后。目前NERC资金包括一个联合项目NE / K000047 / 1:“北极的气候变化是否会增加英国的滑坡 - 海啸风险。”Piggott教授领导了关于 水动力模型和定量危害评估工作,以及NE / S006427 / 1关于冰架下的海洋动力学的数值模拟。 数值技术的开发由一系列EPSRC项目资助,包括EP / L000407 / 1平台:“有限元数值模拟的基 础技术”,最近基于EP / R029423 / 1“PRISM:数值模拟方法研究平台”以及面向未来的软件项 目EP / M011054 / 1:“一种应用海洋技术的新的仿真优化平台” 进行了更新。他负责或协调 与该项目相关的几个计算机程序代码的开发,包括:流动性[应用有限元和自适应非结构​​化网 格的CFD和海洋建模 - http://fluidity-project.org];开放式潮汐场[基于潮汐涡轮数据矩阵的优化模 拟- http://opentidalfarm.org];和Thetis [使用Firedrake框架构建的3D沿海海洋模型 - http://thetisproject.org]。

Prof. Matthew Piggott

Imperial College London

Prof. Xiaowei Zhao

赵小伟教授于2010年获得伦敦帝国理工学院控制理论博士学位。随后,小伟在牛津大学控制 工程组读了三年博士后。之后,他于2013年加入华威,并于2018年成为一名主任。目前,小 伟有八个正在进行的可再生能源项目,分别来自EPSRC(四个),H2020(一个),英国国家 电网(一个)和Leverhulme Trust(一个)。他是工程和物理科学研究委员会以及海上可持续 能源供给计划的联合主任,并持有工程和物理科学研究委员会研究基金。

小伟的研究是多学科的,涉及控制、电气、结构和流体动力学工程领域。相关专业知识包括 (1)无限维控制理论和数据驱动控制理论;(2)风/潮汐涡轮机/场的控制;(3)可再生能 源(特别是风能)的网络整合;(4)微网络。

Prof. Xiaowei Zhao

University of Warwick

Dr Yorgos Deskos

Georgios(Yorgos)Deskos是伦敦帝国理工学院航空系博士后。在那里,他负责作为工程和物理 科学研究委员会资助项目的一部分:FENGBO-WIND(将环境融入电网:海上风电的大数据) 的海上风电场的建模、设计和优化。他最近完成了他的“风力涡轮机尾流数值模拟”博士学位 论文,并在2018年奥斯本雷诺兹日竞赛中获得第三名。

Dr Yorgos Deskos

NREL Colorado

中国参与者

宋永华教授

宋教授是世界著名的电气工程学者。他获得了中国电力科学研究院的博士学位。由于他在该领 域的杰出知识和对电力系统研究的贡献,他在2002年被布鲁内尔大学授予D.Sc.并且在2014年 被巴斯大学授予D.Eng荣誉。

.
他自2018年1月起担任澳门大学校长。从1997年至2010年,他是英国布鲁内尔大学电子与计 算机工程系教授。他于1997年1月至2001年12月在布鲁内尔担任皇家工程学院/核电/西门子电 力系统主任。2004年,他被任命为布鲁内尔研究生院副校长。
2009年,他担任清华大学助理校长和电气工程教授。2012年12月,他还被任命为中国全球专 家(千人计划)办公室主任。2012年11月,他加入浙江大学担任常务副院长兼国际校区创始 院长。

1991年至1992年,宋是英国布里斯托尔大学数学学院皇家学会访问学者。1992年至1993年, 他担任电子及电气工程学院研究主任。1993年至1994年,他在英国巴斯大学担任讲师。

宋永华教授

University of Macau

UK & CHN Core - UK & China Centre for Offshore Renewable Energy
  • Fengbo-Wind

FENGBO-WIND: Farming the Environment into the Grid: Big data in Offshore Wind – EP/R007470/1

Led by: Professor Mike Graham, Imperial College London, and Professor Yonghua Song, Zhejiang University EPSRC funding: £797,054

The FENGBO-WIND project aims to utilise the newest developments in high-performance computing, physics-based modelling and data science, to create a new generation of predicting capabilities that support the design and operation of more economical offshore wind farms, while assessing and seeking to minimise their environmental impact.

 

 

UK Participants

Prof. Mike Graham

Mike Graham is Professor of Unsteady Aerodynamics in the Aeronautics Department of Imperial College. He is currently the PI for the Imperial College–Warwick University project FENGBO-Wind which is part of the UK-China Offshore Rewable Energy Consortium programme.

Mike Graham has been on the staff at Imperial College since 1970, joining as a lecturer after taking a Maths BA degree (1963) at Cambridge University and a PhD in Aeronautics (1967) at Imperial College, becoming Head of the Department of Aeronautics from 1999 - 2003. During his career at the College he has worked in the research fields of Low-Speed Aerodynamics (turbulence, wakes, wind engineering), Marine Technology (wave and current forces on fixed structures and floating bodies) and since 1990 Renewable Energy (wind turbine aerodynamics and tidal turbine hydrodynamics).

This research has been both experimental and theoretical/computational and has been published in more than 150 research papers in peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings. He has participated in many EPSRC, EU and other funded projects including leading a number of consortium projects, relevant examples being EPSRC Marine CFD, EU MARNET(technical area coordinator) and EU(Joule): ROTOW(rotor-tower interaction) and has been a member of UK Govt. DTI committees on renewable energy and accelerated hydrocarbon recovery, the EPSRC Oil and Gas Extraction Programme and the High Performance Computing Panel CCP12. He is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Royal Aeronautical Society and the Royal Institution of Naval Architects.

Prof. Mike Graham

Imperial College London

Prof. Rafael Palacios

Rafael Palacios is Reader in Aeronautics at Imperial College London, where he has been since 2007. He is Aeronautical Engineer from Universidad Politécnica, Madrid, and Ph.D. in Aerospace Engineering from the University of Michigan, which he attended with a Fulbright fellowship. Before his PhD he spent four years at Airbus’s Aeroelasticity Department near Madrid. His research is on computational methods in aeroservoelasticity and fluid-structure interactions, with applications to aeroelastic design and control of large offshore wind turbines and very flexible air vehicles. His research has been funded by the UK Research Council, European Commission, AFOSR, QinetiQ and Airbus.

He has also acted as technical consultant with Airbus, Facebook and MSC Software in the translation of his research in nonlinear aeroelasticity to industrial applications. At Imperial he is theme leader for Offshore Renewable Energy research at the Energy Futures Lab. He received the best undergraduate student award in Spain, the AIAA Foundation Orville and Wilbur Wright Graduate Award for best PhD thesis in aerospace engineering in the US, and Imperial’s best supervisor award in 2013. Rafael is associate editor of Progress in Aerospace Sciences, the Journal of Fluids and Structures, and the Journal of Aircraft, a member of the AIAA Structural Dynamics Technical Committee, and a Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society. For more information as well as a full list of publications, please visit Rafael’s personal web site at Imperial College London or the website of the Load Control and Aeroelastics Research Lab.

Prof. Rafael Palacios

Imperial College London

Prof. Matthew Piggott

Prof. Matthew Piggott is Professor of Computational Geoscience and Engineering at Imperial College London. He is a member of the Department of Earth Science and Engineering where he Heads the Computational Geoscience and Engineering Research Section. He obtained Masters and PhD degrees in Mathematics from the University of Bath, specialising in Numerical Analysis and joined Imperial College London in 2001. He is Deputy Director for the NERC Doctoral Training Partnership “Science and Solutions for a Changing Planet”. His research interests include the development of advanced open source numerical methods for environmental flows utilising adaptive mesh methods and massively parallel algorithms, along with inversion, optimisation and uncertainty quantification techniques, and their application across a range of environmental and energy motivated problems.

He has authored 100+ peer reviewed publications in these areas, raised over £10M of UK Research Council and industrial funding, and supervised 35 PhD students and 20 postdoctoral researchers. Current NERC funding includes a Consortium project NE/K000047/1: “Will climate change in the Arctic increase the landslide-tsunami risk to the UK?” where Prof. Piggott leads a work package on hydrodynamic modelling and quantitative hazard assessment, and NE/S006427/1 on the simulation of the ocean dynamics under ice shelves. Numerical technology development is funded by a series of EPSRC projects, including the Platform EP/L000407/1: “Underpinning technologies for finite element simulation”, recently renewed under EP/R029423/1 “PRISM: Platform for Research In Simulation Methods”, and a Software for the Future project EP/M011054/1: “A new simulation and optimisation platform for marine technology”. He works on or coordinates the development of several computational codes of relevance to this project, including: Fluidity [CFD and marine modelling with finite elements and adaptive unstructured meshes - http://fluidity-project.org]; OpenTidalFarm [simulation and adjoint-based optimisation of tidal turbine arrays - http://opentidalfarm.org]; and Thetis [3D coastal ocean model built using the Firedrake framework - http://thetisproject.org].

Prof. Matthew Piggott

Imperial College London

Prof. Xiaowei Zhao

Professor Xiaowei Zhao is Professor of Control Engineering and an EPSRC Fellow. He received the PhD in Control Theory from Imperial College London in 2010. His PhD study was supported by an EPSRC International Doctoral Scholarship (33 awards in the UK at that year) and an ORSAS Award. Then Xiaowei worked as a post-doctoral researcher at the Control Engineering Group in the University of Oxford for three years. After that he joined the University of Warwick in 2013, where he became a chair in 2018. Currently, Xiaowei has eight active renewable-energy projects from EPSRC (four), H2020 (one), National Grid UK (one) and the Leverhulme Trust (one). He is a co-director of the EPSRC Supergen ORE Hub and holds an EPSRC Fellowship.

Xiaowei’s research is highly multidisciplinary, covering the areas of control, electrical, structural and fluid dynamics engineering. Relevant expertise includes (1) infinite-dimensional control theory and data-driven control theory; (2) control of wind/tidal turbines/farms; (3) grid integration of renewable energy, in particular wind energy; (4) microgrids.

Prof. Xiaowei Zhao

University of Warwick

Dr Yorgos Deskos

Georgios (Yorgos) Deskos is a postdoctoral researcher in the Department of Aeronautics at Imperial College London where he works on the modelling, design and optimisation of offshore wind farms as part of the EPSRC funded project: FENGBO-WIND (Farming the Environment into the Grid: Big data in Offshore Wind). He recently completed his PhD work on “Numerical simulations of wind turbine wakes” for which he won third place in the prestigious ERCOFTAC Osborne Reynolds Day 2018 competition.

Dr Yorgos Deskos

Imperial College London

China Participants

Prof. Yonghua Song

Prof. Song is a world-renowned scholar in electrical engineering. He received his Ph.D. from the China Electric Power Research Institute. Due to his outstanding knowledge in his field and contributions to power system research, he was awarded D.Sc. by Brunel University in 2002 and an Honorary D.Eng. by Bath University in 2014.

He has been rector of the University of Macau since January 2018.
From 1997 to 2010, he was a Professor of Department of Electronic and Computer Engineering, Brunel University, UK. He held the Royal Academy of Engineering/Nuclear Electric/Siemens Chair of Power Systems at Brunel from Jan 1997 to Dec 2001. In 2004, he was appointed the pro-vice-chancellor for graduate studies at Brunel.
In 2009, he was an assistant president and professor of electrical engineering at Tsinghua University. He was also appointed as the Director of Chinese National Recruitment Program of Global Experts (1000 Talents Program) Office until December 2012. In November 2012, he joined Zhejiang University as executive vice president and the founding dean of the International Campus.

From 1991 to 1992, Song was the Royal Society Visiting Fellow at the School of Mathematics, University of Bristol, UK and from 1992 to 1993, he was the research officer at School of Electronic and Electrical Engineering and lecturer from 1993 to 1994 at the University of Bath, UK.

Prof. Yonghua Song

University of Macau